Parish social ministry

Do you have a heart to serve others? We have classes ongoing through December 2012 for certification to become a Parish Social Minister.

This unique class and certification is offered through Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston. Scheduled in the fall or spring semesters, the Parish Social Ministry Certificate Program (PSMCP) has received national recognition for its curriculum and Gospel-centered approach of teaching.

"This (class) was excellent. It increased my awareness of the many needs in the area and possible avenues to meet their needs.  I am not sure yet where I will be able to plug in, but I am inspired that there is a ministry here for me." Robert E. McCaslin, Jr., St. John Vianney

The Parish Social Ministry (PSM) of Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston is a unique partnership between parishes in the Archdiocese and Catholic Charities. PSM provides education, leadership training, networking and resources for local parish and community leaders, empowering them to serve the most vulnerable in their communities through the five elements of the Church's social teachings and mission: direct service, legislative advocacy, community organizing, justice and peace/ global solidarity and Catholic social teaching formation. There is a $150 fee for the Parish Social Ministry Certificate Program (PSMCP).

Ministry Models

The program provides assistance to parish leaders in designing ministry models that fit the unique characteristic and needs of the parish such as AIDS Ministry, Care Givers Team, Job Ministry, Social Services, Social Justice, and Neighborhood Ministry.

Collaborative Efforts

Through joint partnership efforts, we provide workshops on key issues or concerns. Partnerships include UST-Young Institute, Mission Office, Texas Catholic Conference, Office on Aging, Catholic Relief Services and Office of Justice and Peace.

Service Area

This program is primarily for leaders and volunteers engaged in Parish Social Ministry in the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston, comprised of ten Texas counties: Austin, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Walker, and Waller. These areas are divided into 4 vicariates and 13 deaneries with a total of 153 Catholic Parishes.

The goal is to establish a strong unified structured force of Parish Social Ministers to play a crucial role in helping the parish community act on the dimension of the.Catholic Social Teachings

For more information, please contact Jo Ann Zuniga at or 713.874.6558.

2900 Louisiana   |   Houston, TX 77006   |   713.526.4611

Requests for Assistance: 1.866.649.5862   |   Toll-Free

 CC Logo No bckgrnd

Employee Access